Main Page | Report this Page
 
   
Movies Forum Index  »  Movie Production (Sound) Forum  »  Virus disguised as a Trew Audio promotion
Page 1 of 1    
Author Message
Blayne Gorum
Posted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 10:37 pm
Guest
Just a note to warn about what was in my bulk email box a few minutes
ago. I got an email with an attachment that claims to be a promotion
from Trew Audio. It says it's a Word file, but it's the .pif type and
when I scanned it before downloading I got this warning: Virus
"W32.Netsky.D@mm" found.

Just thought some of you would appreciate the warning.

Darn, just when I was hoping for some goodies on sale for NAB!
Richard Crowley
Posted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 12:01 am
Guest
"Blayne Gorum" wrote ...
Quote:
Just a note to warn about what was in my bulk email box a few minutes
ago. I got an email with an attachment that claims to be a promotion
from Trew Audio. It says it's a Word file, but it's the .pif type and
when I scanned it before downloading I got this warning: Virus
"W32.Netsky.D@mm" found.

Just thought some of you would appreciate the warning.

You can pretty much bet on the fact that those infected e-mail
messages are NEVER actually from the person identified as
"From:". That is one of the functions of the virus/worm.

Today I received a "warning" from msnbcreports that they
rejected my email message because of the attachment. I have
never even heard of "msnbcreports" and have certainly never
sent any email to them. The email was likely sent from some
third-party infected user who has both my email AND that of
msnbcreports in their address list.
Jon Tatooles
Posted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 4:55 pm
Guest
I received a virus "spoofed" from myself in my spam folder today! It
certainly didn't come from our e-mail servers. There is no doubt that one or
more webbies in our audio industry has Netsky. I highly recommend regular
virus scans and aggressive spam filters.

Jon Tatooles
Sound Devices, LLC



"Richard Crowley" <rcrowley7@xprt.net> wrote in message
news:107cf1jf6k5045@corp.supernews.com...
Quote:
"Blayne Gorum" wrote ...
Just a note to warn about what was in my bulk email box a few minutes
ago. I got an email with an attachment that claims to be a promotion
from Trew Audio. It says it's a Word file, but it's the .pif type and
when I scanned it before downloading I got this warning: Virus
"W32.Netsky.D@mm" found.

Just thought some of you would appreciate the warning.

You can pretty much bet on the fact that those infected e-mail
messages are NEVER actually from the person identified as
"From:". That is one of the functions of the virus/worm.

Today I received a "warning" from msnbcreports that they
rejected my email message because of the attachment. I have
never even heard of "msnbcreports" and have certainly never
sent any email to them. The email was likely sent from some
third-party infected user who has both my email AND that of
msnbcreports in their address list.

Dave
Posted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 6:55 pm
Guest
We get the same thing here. Kinda funny, cause the from e-mail it uses
doesn't even exist any more.

-Dave Fisk
Coffey Sound



Jon Tatooles <jon@nospam.sounddevices.com> wrote in message
news:107eafmhf3bbp19@corp.supernews.com...
Quote:
I received a virus "spoofed" from myself in my spam folder today! It
certainly didn't come from our e-mail servers. There is no doubt that one
or
more webbies in our audio industry has Netsky. I highly recommend regular
virus scans and aggressive spam filters.

Jon Tatooles
Sound Devices, LLC



"Richard Crowley" <rcrowley7@xprt.net> wrote in message
news:107cf1jf6k5045@corp.supernews.com...
"Blayne Gorum" wrote ...
Just a note to warn about what was in my bulk email box a few minutes
ago. I got an email with an attachment that claims to be a promotion
from Trew Audio. It says it's a Word file, but it's the .pif type and
when I scanned it before downloading I got this warning: Virus
"W32.Netsky.D@mm" found.

Just thought some of you would appreciate the warning.

You can pretty much bet on the fact that those infected e-mail
messages are NEVER actually from the person identified as
"From:". That is one of the functions of the virus/worm.

Today I received a "warning" from msnbcreports that they
rejected my email message because of the attachment. I have
never even heard of "msnbcreports" and have certainly never
sent any email to them. The email was likely sent from some
third-party infected user who has both my email AND that of
msnbcreports in their address list.



 
Page 1 of 1       All times are GMT - 5 Hours
The time now is Sat Sep 06, 2008 4:42 pm